The Honourable Company of Air Pilots incorporating Air Navigators

Award Winners


The Award of Honour
Awarded for an outstanding and enduring contribution to aviation.


The Award for Gallantry
Awarded to an individual, or crew of an aircraft, in any field of aviation for an outstanding act of gallantry.  It is intended that this should be awarded on rare occasions for any act considered worthy of the award as soon as the facts of the event are clear.

The Grand Master's Commendation
Awarded for an act of valour or outstanding service in the air, at the discretion of the Grand Master.

The Master's Medal
Awarded to any person in aviation, at any time, for an act or other achievement in aviation considered worthy of the Medal, as soon as the facts of the event are clear.  This is intended to be an immediate award, made at the discretion of the Master and on the advice of the Trophies and Awards Committee

The Hugh Gordon-Burge Memorial Award
Awarded to a member or members of a crew whose outstanding behaviour and action contributed to the saving of their aircraft or passengers.

The Prince Philip Helicopter Rescue Award
Awarded to an individual member of a helicopter crew, a complete crew or the crews of multiple helicopters, for an act of outstanding courage or devotion to duty in the course of land or sea search and rescue operations.


The Sir Barnes Wallis Medal
Awarded in recognition of an innovative and exceptional contribution to aviation.

The Grand Master's Medal
Awarded to a pilot under the age of 30 for outstanding achievement and endeavour in any field of flying activity.

The Master's Commendation
Awarded for commendable achievement in any sector of aviation, at the discretion of the Master.

The Brackley Memorial Trophy
Awarded to an individual, a complete aircraft crew, or an organisation, for an act or acts of outstanding flying skill, which have contributed to the operational development of air transport or transport aircraft.

The Johnston Memorial Trophy
Awarded for outstanding performance in the operation of airborne systems, manned or unmanned.

The Sword of Honour
Awarded for an outstanding contribution to General Aviation.

The Hanna Trophy
Awarded for an outstanding contribution to the art of display flying of historic, vintage or modern fighter aircraft.

The Myles Bickerton Trophy
Awarded for outstanding flying achievement in General Aviation.


The Derry and Richards Memorial Medal
Awarded to a test pilot, who has made an outstanding contribution in advancing the art and science of aviation.

The Eric "Winkle" Brown Memorial Award
Awarded for commendable achievement or contribution, by an individual or team, to the operational assessment or development of a manned aircraft(s) or airborne system(s).


The Sir James Martin Award
Awarded to an individual, a group, team or organisation, which has made an outstanding, original and practical contribution leading to the safer operation of aircraft or the survival of aircrew or passengers.

The Cumberbatch Trophy
Awarded for an outstanding contribution to aviation safety.


The Glover Trophy
(formerly the Sir Alan Cobham Memorial Award)
Awarded to the most meritorious student pilot graduating from a college or school of civil or military aviation and nominated by the Principal or Commanding Officer. Particular consideration will be given to the candidate’s progress during the course, including qualities of character, leadership, involvement in sport, recreation and voluntary service, in addition to flying and academic achievement.

The Central Flying School Trophy
Awarded to an individual, group or organisation that has made an outstanding contribution toward the achievement of excellence in the delivery of flying training or instructional standards.

The Pike Trophy
Awarded to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the maintenance of high standards of civil flying instruction and safety, taking into account working conditions and opportunities.

The John Landymore Trophy
Awarded to the outstanding candidate of that year for a PPL Scholarship.  The award is recommended by the Scholarship Committee.


The Sir Alan Cobham Memorial Award
(formerly the Award of Merit)
Awarded for meritorious service to the Company.


The Grand Master's Australian Medal
Awarded to an individual, a group or organisation involved in any branch of aviation in the Australian Region or to Australian nationals abroad, who or which has made a meritorious contribution to any aviation activity, either by displaying technical excellence or by the development of a procedure or operational technique of an outstanding nature.

The Australian Bi-Centennial Award
Awarded as an ongoing commemoration of the Australian Bi-centenary, to recognise an outstanding individual contribution to Australian aviation.

The Jean Batten Memorial Award
Awarded in memory of the late Liveryman Miss Jean Batten, to recognise an outstanding individual contribution to New Zealand aviation.


The Award for Aviation Journalism
Awarded to an individual journalist, publication or organisation for an outstanding contribution to the promotion or public awareness of aviation in general or of any important aspect of aviation activity.


The Academic Bursaries and Flying Scholarships and Bursaries