The Honourable Company of Air Pilots incorporating Air Navigators

The John Landymore Trophy

The John Landymore Trophy

Awarded to the outstanding candidate of the year for a PPL Scholarship. The award is recommended by the Scholarship Committee.


2019 awarded to: Elton Hove


023 Elton Hove - John Landymore Trophy

Elton won the Donaldson PPL Scholarship and completed his training with the Yorkshire Aero Club.


From the initial impression that he made upon the scholarship selection committee to the approach he adopted during his flying training, Elton was exemplary.  His ground school results were top class and his whole approach to the learning process and personal application required to be a proficient and able pilot were present from the outset.  Elton’s enthusiasm and determination to achieve his goal was evident to his ground and flying instructors.  His attitude was always positive and he was a pleasure to teach.

As a result of his personal qualities and professional, competent approach to flyin1 Elton Hove John Landymore Trophyg demonstrated during his training for a PPL, Elton Hove is awarded the John Landymore Trophy for 2019.





Previous winners:

1993 Karen J Lysakowska

1994 Robert Clarke

1995 Not Awarded

1996 Giles Fowler

1997 Philip Donovan

1998 Jennifer Allen

1999 Joseph G A Wynn

2000 Philip Miskimmim

2001 James M Pyne

2002 Alistair Edward Richard White

2003 Ewan Colin Crosbie

2004 Luke Matthew Jonathan Cooper-Berry

2005 Simon Philip Keightley

2006 Laura Cunningham Elliott

2007 Grant Linklater

2008 Thomas Dean

2009 Courtney Challis

2010 John Randall

2011 Tom Keable

2012 Sebastian Krzyzewski

2013 James Johnston

2014 Daniel McCormack

2015 Alexander May

2016 Will Moroney

2017 Robert Norris

2018  Amy Palmer

2019  Elton Hove