The Honourable Company of Air Pilots incorporating Air Navigators

The Master's Trophy - Hong Kong Region



 Captain Tin Yun Lam


One of the earliest cadets, Captain Tin Lam joined Cathay Pacific Airways in 1998 and rose through the ranks to his current position as a Check & Training Captain on the Airbus Fleet.

Tin joined GAPAN in 2005 and within one year became involved in a sub-committee to assist others with Multi-crew Pilot Licensing (MPL).  In 2008 he became GAPAN Regional Honorary Secretary, a position that he held for the next six years, only relinquishing the role on his appointment as Regional Vice-Chairman in 2014.

As an example of his enthusiasm, in the same year 2008, Tin became Secretary of the Youth Flying Scholarship (YFS) and conjointly Chairman and member of the Selection Team in 2010.  Tin threw himself wholeheartedly into YFS and immediately recognised the requirement for a radical overhaul of the selection process, which he swiftly accomplished assisted by his fellow team members.  Justifiably Tin regards the subsequent cadet success rate at Tayside, as a highlight of his time with YFS and indeed The Company.

Tin acceded to become Chairman of The Honourable Company of Air Pilots (Hong Kong Region) in 2016, however maintained an active role as YFS Chairman, Secretary and member of the Selection Team until 2017.

Throughout his two year tenure as Chairman, Captain Tin Lam continually upheld the morals and traditions of Our Honourable Company, in so doing providing a welcome and stabilising influence on the Region.  Tin continued to serve and advise the General Committee, as Immediate Past Chairman, prior to his well earned retirement from the limelight in December 2019.



“your loyalty to and endeavours for, GAPAN and subsequently as Regional Chairman of The Honourable Company of Air Pilots are gratefully noted by the Court.  However, your commitment and dedication to promoting aviation to future generations, exampled by your restructuring and enhancement of the Hong Kong Youth Flying Scholarship, are especially commendable.”




Previous Winners:

2020  Captain Tin Yun Lam

2019 Captain Ian Smith

2018  Captain Graham Forbes

2017  Gabriel Chan

2016  Gary Lui

2015 Jeremy John Russell

2014  Captain Michael Chan

2013 Dr Lily K B Fenn LLB MAv LLD

2012 Mr Paddy Cavanagh

2011 Captain Peter G Robinson FRAeS AdDipAV

2010 Captain Brian J Greeves BSc(Eng) DMS(Dist) FRAeS FRGS

2009 Philip Parker