The Brackley Memorial Trophy

Awarded to an individual, a complete aircraft crew, or an organisation, for an outstanding contribution to air transport or transport aircraft operations.
(amended Terms of Reference 2019)

2022 Awarded to:  Squadron Leader Richard Waller RAF

While the civilian airline industry has transitioned to Electronic Flight Bags, the RAF Air Mobility Force has hitherto relied on paper products to support its fleet. Having returned to the RAF from a civilian flying career, Sqn Ldr Waller recognised that not only did that approach limit agility, but there was also considerable cost involved in the continued production of paper products, in addition to the environmental impact associated with significant use of consumable resources.

WALLER RichardDespite the prevalence of tablet-based solutions in the aviation community, the regulatory structure associated with military operations had not adapted to make the adoption of Electronic Flight Bags a simple evolution. Nonetheless, Sqn Ldr Waller was not deterred and became the unequivocal expert in the process required to clear both required devices and associated software, expertly navigating numerous challenges that presented themselves along the way. Those challenges also extended to identifying funding opportunities, along with running the competition to select a software provider and sourcing mounting solutions for the cockpits of C130J, C17 and C1 Atlas aircraft. Furthermore, Sqn Ldr Waller also organised and supported all trials work, in addition to developing consequent submissions that resulted in the acceptance of this new and vital capability. Those endeavours resulted in the ability to dynamically update critical flight information publications to allow crews to plan when dislocated from traditional flight planning facilities, which will not only boost flexibility and operational agility, but will also benefit quality of life for crews who frequently spend weeks away from their homes and families.

The Electronic Flight Bag capability represents the future of military aviation information management; Sqn Ldr Waller not only recognised that but has also ensured that the Air Mobility Force will be in the vanguard for delivery to the wider RAF, with his expertise subsequently being recognised by the F35B and Typhoon communities. His initiative and leadership have been exceptional, and he is wholly deserving of formal recognition for his contribution to the Air Mobility Force and the wider utility that this work will offer to ‘UK Defence’.  He is accordingly awarded the Brackley Memorial Trophy.



Previous Winners:

1948/49  J L Parker Esq

1949/50  H W C Alger Esq

1950/51  Wg Cdr B J Aikman

1952  not awarded

1952/53  G A V Tyson Esq

1954  not awarded

1954/55  Royal Air Force Station - Pembroke Dock (201 & 230 Sqns)

1956 - 1957  not awarded

1957/58  Comet and Britannia Flights of BOAC

1960  not awarded

1960/61  Captain J S Shephard

1961/62  No. 216 Sqn RAF

1962/63  No. 22 (SAR) Sqn RAF

1963/64  Captain Richard Rymer (postumous)

1964/65  Captain Frederick Ladd MBE

1965/66  Cdr P M Lamb

1966/67  J H Phillips Esq

1968  not awarded

1968/69  Nos 22 and 202 Sqn, Coastal Command

1969/70  Flying Crews of Bristow Helicopters

1971  not awarded

1971/72  Captain C M Ramsey

1973 - 1974  not awarded

1974/75  Royal Naval Air Station Culdrose

1976  not awarded

1976/77  Captain Brian J Calvert

1978 - 1979  not awarded

1979/80  Captain Hugh P K Dibley

1980/81  Commander J Young and Captain R Crippen

1981/82  Long Range Operations-Falklands Islands Gp Capt Price, Wg Cdr P J Squire, Flt Lt W F M Withers, Flt Lt T F Locke, Flt Lt J A Cowan

1983 - 1986  not awarded

1986/87  Captain J Mason

1988 - 1991  not awarded

1991/92  Captain H Gee

1992/93  Captain T R Fulton

1994 - 1995  not awarded

1995/96  Aircrew of 47 Sqn Special Forces Flight

1997  not awarded

1997/98  Captain W D (Jock) Lowe

1998/99  Captain Neville J Hay

1999/2000  Captain Iain McClelland

2001  not awarded

2001/02  47 Sqn RAF

2002/03  99 SqnRAF

2003/04  Sqn Ldr James Dalrymple Cunningham MBE

2005  not awarded

2005/06  John Cashman

2006/07  J Tactical Training Flight RAF

2008  not awarded

2008/09 Sqn Ldr Keith Hewitt MBE RAF

2010 - 2011  not awarded

2011/12  Flt Lt C D Maggs RAF

2013 - 2015  not awarded

2016  Flt Lt Stephen Hewer RAF

2017  40 Sqn Royal New Zealand Air Force

2018   not awarded

2019  British Airways Concorde Fleet

2020  Number 32 (The Royal) Squadron RAF

2021   not awarded

2022  Sqn Ldr Richard Waller RAF