The Master's Trophy - Australia Region

2021 Adrianne Fleming OAM

FLEMING OAM Adrianne AUSAdrianne Fleming learned to fly in the late 1980s whilst working for the Civil Aviation Authority as an Airways Systems Data Officer, a support role to Air Traffic Control.  By August 1993, aged just 24, she had advanced to hold a Commercial Pilot Licence and Grade 1 Flight Instructor rating, and with her husband Geoff, opened her own flying school, Tristar Aviation, at Moorabbin airport in Melbourne.

Over the years Adrianne became known as a specialist in training methodology.  The school expanded with a staff of 12 instructors offering approved courses to Australian and overseas students.  Many of their former students are now employed with Australian and overseas airlines.

Adrianne has been the Executive Commissioner for the Australian Air League in Victoria for more than 10 years, promoting aviation as a career option to young men and women.  For this and her other work she was awarded the Nancy-Bird Walton Memorial Trophy granted by the Australian Women Pilots' Association for a most noteworthy contribution to aviation by a woman in Australasia.

In 2016, Adrianne was invested with the Order of Australia Medal (OAM) for services to aviation.  

She is a board member of the Professional Aviation Board of Certification, involved in flying training syllabus and practice development and is the Scholarship Coordinator for the Australian chapter of Women in Aviation, offering mentoring, networking and education opportunities to women interested in careers in aviation.

In June 2019, Adrianne was invited by CASA to join their Aviation Safety Advisory Panel, with particular reference to the flight training sector of the industry.

In recognition of her outstanding contribution to the flying training industry and her support for women pilots, Adrianne Fleming OAM is awarded the Master's Trophy for the Australian Region 2021



Previous Winners:

2021 Adrianne Fleming OAM

2020 Michael John Cleaver BSc

2019  Captain Darryl Hill

2018  Robert Moore

2017  Mr G A "Peter" Lloyd AC AO OBE

2016  John Graham Eacott MAP

2015 Harold Roy Walton  CEng FRAeS FCILTA CPEng MIE(Aust) MAP

2014 Captain R A "Sandy" Howard

2013  Sue Ball

2012 Bishop Anthony Hall-Matthews

2011 Spencer Lyons Ferrier

2010 John Whittington

2009 Captain Warwick Balir Tainton MAP