Award Winners 2023

Lifetime Contribution to the Aerospace Industry

The Award of Honour

Royal Air Force Battle of Britain Memorial Flight

For Outstanding Courage or Devotion to Duty in the Air

The Grand Master's Award

Not awarded


The Master's Commendation

Captain Alastair Rorrison AAC

The Master's Medal

Flight Lieutenant Matthew Pilbeam RAF

The Hugh Gordon-Burge Memorial Award

David Barrell

The Prince Philip Helicopter Rescue Award

Crew of Rescue 924

The Barry Marsden Memorial Award

CareFlight Australia


Flight Operations

The Sir Barnes Wallis Medal

Not awarded


The Grand Master's Medal

First Lieutenant Andrew H Merkley USAF


The Brackley Memorial Trophy

Jason Sandever


The Johnston Memorial Trophy

Captain John Roberts


The Sword of Honour

Francis Donaldson FRAeS

The Myles Bickerton Trophy

Alicia Nicole Hepleman-Adams


The Hanna Trophy

Paul Stone

Fight Test

The Derry and Richards Memorial Medal

Flight Leiutenant Aaron How RAAF


The Eric "Winkle" Brown Memorial Award

Not awarded

Safety and Survival

The Sir James Martin Award

Not awarded


The Cumberbatch Trophy

Lieutenant Craig Allen RN


The Glover Trophy

Lieutenant Patrick Richardson RN


The Central Flying School Trophy

Royal Ar Force Central Gliding School Instructor Training Team


The Pike Trophy

Anthony Cooke

The John Landymore Trophy

Mollie Wadsworth

For Services to the Company

The Sir Alan Cobham Memorial Award


Reverend Dr Richard Waugh QSM

Regional Awards

The Grand Master's Australian Medal

Qantas Group Pilot Academy


The Australian Bi-Centennial Award

Ian Honnery


The Captain John Ashton Memorial Award

Captain Mark Tatton


The Jean Batten Memorial Award

Wing Commander Gordon Ragg AFM RNZAF(Ret'd)

Aviation Media