The Derry & Richards Memorial Medal

Awarded to a test pilot who has made an outstanding contribution in advancing the art and science of aviation.

2021 Awarded to:  Kelly Latimer

LATIMER Kelly Derry And RichardsKelly is a former USAF pilot, having served over 20 years in the military as a pilot and test pilot. She flew operationally on C141, as a pilot and instructor, as well as instructor on the T38, prior to attending Test Pilot’s School (TPS). She then went on to fly and evaluate C-17 and C141 as a test pilot, following that tour with an instructional tour at TPS. Following 9-11 Kelly returned to operational flying and flew C-17s operationally in Iraq and Afghanistan, before returning to Command the 418th Test Squadron at Edwards Air Force Base, California.

Kelly left the military to fly for NASA on modified Boeing 747s, before moving to Boeing as the Chief Test Pilot for C-17 as well as flying all the other “heavy” commercial and military aircraft there.  She now works for Virgin Galactic out of New Mexico where she has flown the White Knight Two (Carrier aircraft for Spaceship 2) and is Chief Test Pilot for Virgin Orbit, a modified Boeing 747-400 carrying the LauncherOne under the port wing.

Kelly has over 6800 flying hours in more than 50 different types and is a distinguished Test Pilot and leader as exemplified by her military and civil achievements. However, this year she was instrumental in leading the LauncherOne team from the early initial design and operational phase, through to Virgin Orbit’s successful rocket launch of 10 mini cubesats into orbit in January of 2021. She is considered by her peers to be an outstanding aviator and manager and an inspiration to the team who work for her.  Women, worldwide, will be inspired by her achievement and for her effortless skills in leading teams to integrate, taking programmes through to completion with safety as a prime prerogative.  Kelly Latimer is a very worthy recipient of the Derry and Richards Memorial Medal.

Previous Winners:

1953  Wg Cdr J H Heyworth

1953/54  Wg Cdr R Beamont

1954/55  L P Twiss Esq

1955/56  Sqn Ldr J S Fifield

1956/57  M Randrup Esq

1957/58  T W Brook-Smith Esq

1959/60  A W Bedford Esq

1960/61  M J Lithgow Esq

1961/62  E B Trubshaw Esq

1962/63  H C H Merewether Esq

1963/64  P Bugge Esq

1964/65  E B Trubshaw Esq

1965/66  J Cunningham Esq

1966/67  H Cliff Rogers Esq DFC

1967/68  D G Taylor Esq

1968/69  J L Dell Esq

1969/70  T P Frost Esq

1970/71  W Gellatley Esq

1971/72  Duncan Simpson Esq

1972/73  J Cochrane Esq

1973/74  W P I Fillingham Esq

1975   not awarded

1975/76  Gilbert Defer Esq

1976/77  T M S Ferguson Esq

1978   not awarded

1978/79  Paul Millett Esq

1979/80  John F Farley Esq

1980/81  David Eagles Esq

1982   not awarded

1982/83  H R Radford Esq

1983/84  ChristopherYeo Esq

1984/85  Jeremy Lee Esq AFC

1985/86  Roy Moxham Esq

1986/87  J A Robinson Esq

1987/88  H E Frick Esq

1988/89  Angus M McVitie Esq

1989/90  K P Orme Esq

1991  not awarded

1991/92  P A Sedgwick Esq

1992/93  C F Roberts Esq

1993/94  C W Hague Esq

1995   not awarded

1995/96  D L J Thomas Esq

1996/97  Graham Tomlinson Esq

1997/98  Jeremy P Tracy Esq

1998/99  Sqn Ldr David R Southwood BSc AFC RAF

1999/2000  Keith Hartley

2000/01  Derek Reeh

2001/02  Simon Hargreaves

2002/03  Gordon G (Jock) Reid FRAeS

2003/04  Paul Hopkins

2004/05  John Turner

2006  not awarded

2006/07  Graham M Archer

2007/08  Peter Lawrence Chandler

2008/09  Iain Young MBE BSc FRAeS

2009/10  Graham Tomlinson

2010/11  Edward (Ed) Strongman

2011/12  Andrew Warner MA(Oxon) MRAeS

2012/13  Peter Wilson

2013/14  Mark Bowman

2015  not awarded

2016  Lt Cdr Robert Dowdell RNR

2017  Andrew Strachan

2018   Frank Chapman

2019 - 2020  not awarded

2021  Kelly Latimer