The Trophies & Awards Committee


Commodore Chris Palmer CBE RN


Captain Peter Benn (Past Master)
Group Captain Tom Eeles
Squadron Leader Nick Goodwyn (Past Master)
Mr Ben Griffiths
Captain John Hutchinson  (Past Master)
Mr James Martin CBE
Air Commodore Rick Peacock-Edwards CBE  (Past Master)
Dorothy Saul-Pooley  (Past Master)
Captain Dave Singleton (Warden)
Air Marshal Cliff Spink CB CBE (Past Master)
Mr John Turner
Elizabeth Walkinshaw (Warden)


In addition to these appointed members, the Master and the Clerk are ex-officio members of the Committee

The Honourable Company of Air Pilots presents aviation industry awards each year to mark achievement and excellence within the industry. These prestigious awards are presented in Guildhall, London (usually) by a member of the Royal Family or The Rt Hon The Lord Mayor and in the presence of up to 700 individuals involved in aviation.

A copy of the terms of reference of each award can be found below.  You will see that they cover a broad spectrum of achievement within the ‘industry’ from individual to corporate, both civil and military. The awards are important and distinctive because they recognise achievement which may otherwise not fit the criteria for a national award (honours list etc) and therefore remain unrecognised by the industry and public alike. 

These awards serve a useful and high-profile public relations purpose to the benefit of all in aviation. They help to maintain the deservedly high esteem in which aviation as an industry and profession is held by the public at large.  I ask that you help the Air Pilots to fulfil that aim.

Through the Trophies and Awards Committee, the Company awards Master Air Pilot, Master Air Navigator and Master Rearcrew Certificates throughout the year in recognition of distinguished professional aircrew achievement.