The Master's Trophy - Hong Kong Region

2021 Sid Kwong

Mr Sid Kwong is an experienced aviator and qualified lawyer.  Born in Australia in 1982 and educated at Taunton School in the United Kingdom, Sid went on to read law at the University of London.  Following his degree, he joined Cathay Pacific Airways as a cadet pilot at Flight Training Adelaide graduating in 2005.

Sid joined the Cathay Pacific Airbus fleet as a second officer and a short three years later he was promoted to first officer staying on the Airbus widebody fleet.  In 2015 Sid took the difficult decision to temporarily suspend his flying career to further his legal ambitions by taking the bar in London. 

Returning to Hong Kong in 2017 he rejoined Hong Kong Airlines as a first officer on the long haul A330.  At the outbreak of the Covid pandemic in 2020,  Sid moved from Hong Kong Airlines to Hong Kong Express as a first officer on the A320, where he is now awaiting the recovery of our aviation sector to recommence his flying career.

Sid joined GAPAN in 2006 and quickly became an active member, throwing himself into organising activities before joining the General Committee and becoming Vice Chairman of the Youth Flying Scholarship.  It is in this role that he has proved especially adept, harnessing his natural negotiating skills to secure ongoing sponsorship for the programme.

Sid took the Livery of the Company in 2018 and throughout his association with the Company, Sid has consistently been an extremely valuable member of the region.  His experience and expertise as a pilot, helping and encouraging the youth of Hong Kong to follow and in many cases choose aviation as a career, has been exemplary.  Sid’s knowledge of the law has assisted and guided our General Committee for many years casting a light on previously unthought aspects of the law and their potential impact on our region.

For his contribution to the Company in Hong Kong both through legal advice and through promoting aviation to the youth of Hong Kong, Sid Kwong is a very worthy winner of the Master’s Trophy for the Hong Kong Region in 2021.



Previous Winners:

2021  Sid Kwong

2020  Captain Tin Yun Lam

2019 Captain Ian Smith

2018  Captain Graham Forbes

2017  Gabriel Chan

2016  Gary Lui

2015 Jeremy John Russell

2014  Captain Michael Chan

2013 Dr Lily K B Fenn LLB MAv LLD

2012 Mr Paddy Cavanagh

2011 Captain Peter G Robinson FRAeS AdDipAV

2010 Captain Brian J Greeves BSc(Eng) DMS(Dist) FRAeS FRGS

2009 Philip Parker