Scholarship Winners 2023

Jul 27, 2023

Air Pilots Scholarship Winners 2023


Thanks to the generosity of sponsors, benefactors and charitable trusts, a total of eight Private Pilot Licence Scholarships and two Instructor Scholarships have been funded. The company have also awarded twenty six Gliding Scholarships.

Private Pilot Licence Scholarships:

The Grayburn Scholarship (kindly sponsored by Past Master of the Company, Michael Grayburn) was awarded to Hannah Whelan.  Hannah currently works as a civil servant and will be using a mixture of annual leave and weekends to complete her training, with Enstone Flying Club.

The Cadogan Scholarship (generously sponsored by the Cadogan Charitable Trust).  The scholarship this year was awarded to Josh Fagan.  Josh applied last year, but narrowly missed out on the final selection.  Not letting that deter him, he applied again this year and is now the lucky recipient of the Cadogan Scholarship and will fly with Merseyflight in Cheshire.

The Air BP Sterling Scholarship (sponsored by Air BP a leading international aviation fuel products and service supplier) has been awarded to Mollie Wadsworth.  Mollie is our youngest scholar this year at 17.  She will fly with Yorkshire Aviation.

The Donaldson Scholarship (kindly donated by Captain Colin Donaldson) has sponsored Andy Limbaya.  Andy is currently a teaching assistant and plans to use the summer holidays to complete his PPL with North Weald Flight Training.

The Air Pilots Trust have sponsored the Sir Sefton Brancker Scholarship this year, and this was awarded to Sophie Durbin.  Sophie is a trained midwife, but always wanted a career in aviation and felt now was the right time to make that change.  She will be flying at Aeros, Cardiff.

Another scholarship goes to Jack Lippiatt.  Jack is another scholar who applied last year and was unsuccessful, but determined not to give up he applied again this year and was awarded the Air Pilots Benevolent Fund Scholarship and is flying with Freedom Aviation.

The BALPA Benevolent Fund this year has sponsored the following three Scholarships:

The Wigley Scholarship has sponsored Emma Lees.  Emma is flying with South Warwickshire Flying School. 

Khalid went through the process last year and secured a gliding scholarship.  This year he was determined to continue his aviation journey and won the Lane Burselem Scholarship

The Bob Dawson Scholarship has sponsored Jacob Cooper.  Jacob is our third student in recent years to fly at Westair in Blackpool.


Flight Instructor Certificate Scholarships 2023:

We have been lucky to have two FIC Scholarships to award this year:

The Swire Scholarship was awarded to Matthew Beckett.  Matthew will train with West London Aero Club.

The Normal Motley Scholarship was awarded to Jonathan Stamp.  Jonathan will fly with Andrewsfield Aviation.


Gliding Scholarships 2023:

This year we awarded 26 Gliding Scholarships all of which were taken as weeklong residential courses.  12 Students attended Derby & Lancs Gliding Club, 2 will fly at Lasham Gliding and 8 are based in Middle Wallop with Portsmouth Naval Gliding Club.

After a successful week last year, we welcomed back Midland Gliding Club and again they will host 4 students. 

This year we welcome a number of new sponsors: 

2Excel have sponsored Ruth Briggs-Waites and Cameron Brown.

Ameila Harrison was awarded the RAFA Scholarship. 

PM Dorothy Saul Pooley has kindly sponsored two students, Lucas Stephens and Emmanuel Joseph.

We also welcome back Virgin Atlantic who sponsored Faith Anne Riches and Robert Johnson.  

The Air Pilots Flying Club Gliding Scholarships were awarded to Rhys Parker, Samuel Jeffs, Alfie Johnston, Adam Rose, Donnach Gibbons and Alfred Dicks.

AFG have sponsored William Frost and Frederick Sills. 

The Company’s two charities the Air Pilots Trust and The Air Safety Trust sponsored 6 Scholarships.  These were awarded to David Ringlemann, Adam Webb, Kai Prema, Rafael Oaks, Toby Ayres and Harry Ng.

The Air Pilots Benevolent Fund sponsored Antoni Krzyzos.  A further 3 scholarships were funded by the Honourable Company and these went to Cairan Cain, Henry Hodgson and Jake Hill. 




For further information please contact the Honourable Company of Air Pilots at:

Ben Griffiths:

Air Pilots Office:
                                 +44 (0)20 7404 4032



Notes to editors:

1. The Honourable Company of Air Pilots

The Air Pilots was established as the Guild of Air Pilots and Air Navigators in 1929. It is based in London but has an internationally based membership of professional and private pilots. The principal activities of the organisation are centred on developing action and activities to ensure that aircraft are piloted and navigated safely by aviators who are highly competent, self-reliant, dependable and respected. 

2.The Air Pilots support the education and training of pilots from the initial instruction of young pilots to specialist training at the highest levels. Through its charitable activities, education and training, technical committees, aircrew selection, scholarships and sponsorships, advice and recognition of the achievements of fellow aviators worldwide, the Honourable Company keeps itself at the forefront of the aviation world.

3. The Air Pilots also provides expert, impartial input to regulators, government and media on areas including aviation and the environment, airport capacity in south east England, aircrew flight time limitations and the maintenance of piloting skills in increasingly automated aircraft. Air Pilots experts are also available to all media on request, to ensure accurate and fully informed reporting of any aviation events. If you need our assistance, please contact us on the numbers or e-mail addresses above.