The Honourable Company of Air Pilots incorporating Air Navigators

The John Landymore Trophy

The John Landymore Trophy

Awarded to the outstanding candidate of the year for a PPL Scholarship. The award is recommended by the Scholarship Committee.


2021 Awarded to: Anne Soltow


SOLTOW Anne John Landymore

Anne won the Bob Dawson (BALPA BF) PPL Scholarship and completed her training with Synergy Flight Centre.

From the initial impression that she made upon the scholarship selection committee to the approach she adopted during her flying training, Anne was exemplary.  Her ground school results were top class and her whole approach to the learning process and personal application required to be a proficient and able pilot were present from the outset.  Anne’s enthusiasm and determination to achieve her goal was evident to her ground and flying instructors.  Her attitude was always positive and she was a pleasure to teach.

As a result of her personal qualities and professional, competent approach to flying demonstrated during her training for a PPL, Anne Soltow is awarded the John Landymore Trophy for 2021.



Previous winners:

1993 Karen J Lysakowska

1994 Robert Clarke

1995 Not Awarded

1996 Giles Fowler

1997 Philip Donovan

1998 Jennifer Allen

1999 Joseph G A Wynn

2000 Philip Miskimmim

2001 James M Pyne

2002 Alistair Edward Richard White

2003 Ewan Colin Crosbie

2004 Luke Matthew Jonathan Cooper-Berry

2005 Simon Philip Keightley

2006 Laura Cunningham Elliott

2007 Grant Linklater

2008 Thomas Dean

2009 Courtney Challis

2010 John Randall

2011 Tom Keable

2012 Sebastian Krzyzewski

2013 James Johnston

2014 Daniel McCormack

2015 Alexander May

2016 Will Moroney

2017 Robert Norris

2018  Amy Palmer

2019  Elton Hove

2020  Not Awarded