The Pike Trophy

Awarded to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to civil flying instruction.
(amended Terms of Reference 2019)

2021 Awarded to:  Primo Lonzardi

LONZARDI Primo PikePrimo Lonzardi is a legendary flying instructor and examiner around the North West of England, and beyond. Having migrated to the UK from Italy in 1970, he has spent the last 50 years flying light aircraft, instructing and examining at various locations around the UK. He is a man of few words and would never talk about his incredible career and achievements. What we do know, however, is that he has instructed at Oxford, Humberside, Sleap, Woodvale, Barton, Manchester International and – for the last 24 years – at Liverpool John Lennon.

Over the years, Primo continued to add to his instructor and examiner qualifications. Countless of today’s airline pilots were taught by Primo on the journey to their present career along with the hundreds of GA pilots who were introduced to the wonders of flight by his passion.

The course he is most famous for teaching is the Flight Instructor Course. He has a unique style of teaching which is charming and relaxed. This is probably why everybody loves to fly with him as he makes the whole experience a pleasure.

Having amassed tens of thousands of hours of flying experience, all in light aircraft, he must be one of the most experienced light aircraft pilots in the UK – if not the world. Despite his experience, he always moves with the times and is passionate about embracing new ideas and new methods. He will always provide nuggets of extra knowledge and tips to the people he flies with, so that even experienced pilots always feel more knowledgeable after a flight with Primo.

Today, he continues to delay a well-earned retirement and can be found still travelling around examining new and existing Flying Instructors. His love of teaching, examining and flying light aircraft meant he turned down a more financially beneficial career in the airlines many times which has been to the advantage of the GA community and world of instructing.

Primo has been part of the Honourable Company of Air Pilots’ Instructors’ Working Group for many years and has contributed hugely to the development of the PPL Flying Instructors’ Guide, Teaching Navigation document and Teaching Stalling document, which are still available on the website. He is a stalwart of general aviation and flying instruction in the UK and is an extremely worthy recipient of the Pike Trophy.

Previous Winners:

1963/64  L V Worsdell Esq

1964/65  Captain Charles William Cowan Hamilton

1966  not awarded

1966/67  J W (Peter) Peckowski Esq AFC ARAeS

1967/68  Rex A Smith Esq

1969  not awarded

1969/70  Captain F Kirk

1970/71  W H W Lucas Esq

1971/72  Captain C W Sweetman

1972/73  A E Bramson Esq

1973/74  E Claxton Esq

1974/75  Captain Douglas E Batten AFC DFM

1975/76  Captain R R Critchley

1977 - 197  not awarded

1978/79  Captain J Varley

1979/80  James John Forbes (Hamish) Logan Esq

1980/81  Miss Joan Lily Amelia Hughes MBE

1981/82  F C Hector Taylor Esq DFM

1982/83  Sqn Ldr R T Bowring AFC

1984   not awarded

1984/85  Sqn Ldr John B Gratton RAF (Rtd)

1985/86  Sidney Harry Parker Esq

1986/87  Colin Beckwith Esq

1987/88  F J Loveridge Esq

1988/89  John K Hill Esq

1989/90  Sqn Ldr R J Cutler

1990/91  Harry A A Smeulders Esq

1991/92  Captain P W Kennedy

1993  not awarded

1993/94  Captain Donald G (Archie) Kinch DFM

1994/95  Peter F C A Thorn Esq

1995/96  John C Cole Esq

1997  not awarded

1997/98  Harvey R Britten Esq

1998/99  Captain Leonard James Otley

1999/2000  Captain Peter David Godwin FRIN

2000/01  Captain Thomas Michael Dyson

2001/02  Michael Arthur (Rufus) Heald Esq MBE

2003  not awarded

2003/04  Captain George Arthur Bedford

2004/05  William Frederick Arthur (Bill) Ison

2005/06 Captain Andrew Gutteridge

2007  not awarded

2007/08  Richard William Kenneth Snell

2008/09  Captain Richard "Dickie" Bird

2009/10  Ian Bain Mackie

2010/11  Mark Woodhouse

2011/12  Gp Capt Christopher E Gould

2012/13  Andrew Dunstan

2014 - 2015  not awarded

2016  Captain Philip G Mathews MAP

2017  Piers Hugh Smerdon

2018  not awarded

2019  awarded twice: 
      Dorothy Saul-Pooley
      Carol Louise Cooper

2020  not awarded

2021  Primo Lonzardi