The Glover Trophy

Awarded to the most meritorious student pilot graduating from a college or school of civil or military aviation.  Particular consideration will be given to the candidate’s progress during the course, including qualities of character, leadership, involvement in sport, recreation and voluntary service, in addition to flying and academic achievement.
(previously the Alan Cobham Prize/The Sir Alan Cobham Memorial Award)

2021 Awarded to: Captain James Lowrey AAC

LOWREY James GloverCaptain James Lowrey commissioned from Sandhurst in 2012 and initially joined the Army Air Corps as an Aviation Support Officer. His diligence and professionalism were key to supporting the 1 Regt AAC move from operating with the Lynx MK9A in Germany to the Wildcat platform at RNAS Yeovilton, UK.

In October 2015 Captain Lowrey began his Army Pilots Course. Throughout the initial parts of his AAC training he demonstrated exceptional levels of commitment and skill and was recognised as the ‘Best Student’ and ‘Top Tactics Student’ on the testing Operational Training Phase (OTP). This phase included the basic, advanced, and tactical elements of flying training and culminated in the award of Army Flying Wings.

Recognising his previous flying training attainment, Captain Lowrey was offered his first-choice aircraft type - Apache. Amongst his peers on the course he was seen as the standout leader and was the natural choice for the chain of command to select as the course leader, a role that proved his exceptional communication skills with his peers and instructors as the course progressed.

Capt Lowrey’s range of attainment cannot be underestimated. The Apache Conversion to Role (CTR) course has a demanding syllabus that requires a deep knowledge of Army tactical doctrine and integration with land forces. Given the scope to which the UK Apache helicopter can be employed by the British Army, the elements of the course range from smaller scale counter-insurgency mission sorties to divisional peer-on-peer scenarios with complex Air Defence and Electronic Warfare (EW) overlays.

Most impressive of all was Captain Lowrey’s performance on the CTR final exercise, which included mutually crewed test exercise sorties. Through his excellent CRM and honed skill in his weaponeering, he was able to apply himself with great effect, bringing out the best in each of his Patrol members. Capt Lowrey’s performance on CTR was outstanding and by no means typical of the usual output standard. This strong performance was recognised in his closing CTR report which recommended that he should be fast tracked to his Combat Ready check and in due course instructor training. His personal achievements combined with his ability to lead, motivate and develop fellow candidates has defined a unique and exceptional performance during Apache CTR and is worthy of recognition by award of the Glover Trophy.

Previous Winners:

... of the Sir Alan Cobham Prize

1966/67 Captain F H Hawkins

1968 - 1970  not awarded

1970/71  Captain M A Lewis

1971/72  Captain Hugh Dibley

... of the Sir Alan Cobham Memorial Award

1974/75  G S Vaizey

1975/76  J V Fanning

1976/77  Laith Al-Omar

1977/78  N C Lewton

1978/79  Pavlos Attalides

1979/80  Michael Joseph Sheen

1980/81  David Stanley Balman

1981/82  Paul Tomlinson

1982/83  Rudolf Van Berkel

1983/84  Robert Martinus Page

1984/85  Alan Robert Beurle

1985/86  Lee Boon Hup

1986/87  Chee Tuck Lai

1987/88  Gurmit Singh

1989  not awarded

1989/90  Stephen Riley

1990/91  E D Troy

1991/92  Michael G Edwards

1992/93  Wilson Wai Yin Tang

1993/94  Simon Galvin

1994/95  Candice Hinrichsen

1995/96  Martin Peter Goddard

1996/97  Mark R Bishton

1997/98  Stuart J Geddes

1998/99  Nicholas Talboys

1999/2000  Jacob Sorensen

2000/01  Mark Cameron

2001/02  Richard Driscoll

2002/03  Ilkka A Tahvanainen

2003/04  Donald Nwajei

2004/05  Jessica Mary Telford

2005/06  not awarded

2006/07  Stephen A Robinson

2007/08  Charles Waters

2008/09  Vincent Dusseau

2009/10  Kelly McQuaid

2010/11  Captain David Parker RCAF

2011/12  Glen Robert Harrison

2012/13  Myriam Gardeazabal

2013/14  Flt Lt Jonathan Hubbleday RAF

2014/15  Flt Lt Thomas Hansford RAF

... of the The Glover Trophy

2016  Flt Lt Jennifer A N Boyd BSc MSc RAF

2017  SAC Aaron A Garcha

2018  not awarded

2019  Lt Michael Plant RN

2020  not awarded

2021  Capt James Lowrey AAC