The Honourable Company of Air Pilots incorporating Air Navigators

The Pike Trophy

Awarded to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to civil flying instruction.

(amended Terms of Reference 2019)


2020:  Not Awarded



Previous Winners:

1963/64 L V Worsdell Esq

1964/65 Captain Charles William Cowan Hamilton

1966  Not Awarded

1966/67 J W (Peter) Peckowski Esq AFC ARAeS

1967/68 Rex A Smith Esq

1969  Not Awarded

1969/70 Captain F Kirk

1970/71 W H W Lucas Esq

1971/72 Captain C W Sweetman

1972/73 A E Bramson Esq

1973/74 E Claxton Esq

1974/75 Captain Douglas E Batten AFC DFM

1975/76 Captain R R Critchley

1977 - 1978  Not Awarded

1978/79 Captain J Varley

1979/80 James John Forbes (Hamish) Logan Esq

1980/81 Miss Joan Lily Amelia Hughes MBE

1981/82 F C Hector Taylor Esq DFM

1982/83 Squadron Leader R T Bowring AFC

1984  Not Awarded

1984/85 Squadron Leader John B Gratton RAF (Rtd)

1985/86 Sidney Harry Parker Esq

1986/87 Colin Beckwith Esq

1987/88 F J Loveridge Esq

1988/89 John K Hill Esq

1989/90 Squadron Leader R J Cutler

1990/91 Harry A A Smeulders Esq

1991/92 Captain P W Kennedy

1993  Not Awarded

1993/94 Captain Donald G (Archie) Kinch DFM

1994/95 Peter F C A Thorn Esq

1995/96 John C Cole Esq

1997  Not Awarded

1997/98 Harvey R Britten Esq

1998/99 Captain Leonard James Otley

1999/2000 Captain Peter David Godwin FRIN

2000/01 Captain Thomas Michael Dyson

2001/02 Michael Arthur (Rufus) Heald Esq MBE

2003  Not Awarded

2003/04 Captain George Arthur Bedford

2004/05 William Frederick Arthur (Bill) Ison

2005/06 Captain Andrew Gutteridge

2007  Not Awarded

2007/08 Richard William Kenneth Snell

2008/09 Captain Richard "Dickie" Bird

2009/10 Ian Bain Mackie

2010/11 Mark Woodhouse

2011/12 Group Captain Christopher E Gould

2012/13 Andrew Dunstan

2014 - 2015 Not Awarded

2016  Captain Philip G Mathews MAP

2017 Piers Hugh Smerdon

2018  Not Awarded

2019  Dorothy Saul-Pooley

       Carol Louise Cooper#

2020  Not Awarded