The Honourable Company of Air Pilots incorporating Air Navigators

The Glover Trophy

Awarded to the most meritorious student pilot graduating from a college or school of civil or military aviation.  Particular consideration will be given to the candidate’s progress during the course, including qualities of character, leadership, involvement in sport, recreation and voluntary service, in addition to flying and academic achievement.


2019 Awarded to:  Lieutenant Michael Plant RN

Determined to get the most from his time on Air Course 701 (Merlin Commando Ab Initio CTT/CTR), Lt Plant tackled this most demanding phase of his flying training with 014 Lt Mike Plant RN - Glovertotal dedication and enthusiasm.  He created a good first impression during ground school and subsequent examinations with an average score of 95%, demonstrating an excellent knowledge of aircraft systems and procedures.  His nascent flying ability was evident from the outset and he consistently produced impressive results across all disciplines resulting in a High Average (72%) overall assessment in the air. 

Always well prepared for sorties, he impressed every level of the Squadron with his ability to brief with confidence, regardless of how senior or large the audience.  In addition, he regularly found the capacity and time to assist other course members with preparation and planning, passing on the knowledge he gained from previous sorties.  His performance levels increased commensurate with the demands of the course.  This culminated in his final handling test, which saw him directly support 3 Cdo Bde on a high-tempo tactical field exercise.  He produced a polished display of captaincy and handling whilst leading a two-ship formation. 

A very capable and confident young officer, he rose to the challenges set and flourished under the intensity and additional pressure of the field exercise.  Awarded the ‘Westland’s Trophy’ for ‘best student’ on 28 Course Wings parade, Plant’s performance throughout the challenging training period was indicative of a very competent operator who possesses huge potential for the future.

Lieutenant Michael Plant is accordingly awarded the Glover Trophy.


Previous Winners:

Sir Alan Cobham Prize

1966/67 Captain F H Hawkins

1968 - 1970  Not Awarded

1970/71 Captain M A Lewis

1971/72 Captain Hugh Dibley

Sir Alan Cobham Memorial Award

1974/75 G S Vaizey

1975/76 J V Fanning

1976/77 Laith Al-Omar

1977/78 N C Lewton

1978/79 Pavlos Attalides

1979/80 Michael Joseph Sheen

1980/81 David Stanley Balman

1981/82 Paul Tomlinson

1982/83 Rudolf Van Berkel

1983/84 Robert Martinus Page

1984/85 Alan Robert Beurle

1985/86 Lee Boon Hup

1986/87 Chee Tuck Lai

1987/88 Gurmit Singh

1989  Not Awarded

1989/90 Stephen Riley

1990/91 E D Troy

1991/92 Michael G Edwards

1992/93 Wilson Wai Yin Tang

1993/94 Simon Galvin

1994/95 Candice Hinrichsen

1995/96 Martin Peter Goddard

1996/97 Mark R Bishton

1997/98 Stuart J Geddes

1998/99 Nicholas Talboys

1999/2000 Jacob Sorensen

2000/01 Mark Cameron

2001/02 Richard Driscoll

2002/03 Ilkka A Tahvanainen

2003/04 Donald Nwajei

2004/05 Jessica Mary Telford

2005/06 Not awarded

2006/07 Stephen A Robinson

2007/08 Charles Waters

2008/09 Vincent Dusseau

2009/10 Kelly McQuaid

2010/11 Captain David Parker RCAF

2011/12 Glen Robert Harrison

2012/13 Myriam Gardeazabal

2013/14 Flight Lieutenant Jonathan Hubbleday RAF

2014/15 Flight Lieutenant Thomas Hansford RAF

The Glover Trophy

2016  Flight Lieutenant Jennifer A N Boyd BSc MSc RAF

2017  SAC Aaron A Garcha

2018  Not Awarded

2019  Lieutenant Michael Plant RN