The Sir Alan Cobham Memorial Award

(formerly the Award of Merit)
Awarded for meritorious service to the Company.


2020 Awarded to:  Will Wright and Becky Kwo


Sir A Cobham Will WrightThe ambition of the Master during his year in office has been to re-energise and bring the company together through the process of encouraging the development of young members who in turn help others.  Before his term in office plans were agreed with Will Wright and Becky Kwo but immediately after the installation the Covid19 crisis prevented face-to-face meetings. However, the team turned a negative into a positive with the use of Zoom and other IT systems. The result is that many members have now become actively involved and made valuable contributions.  It has been a real team effort but in the eyes of the Master, Will Wright and Becky Kwo deserve special recognition for their leadership, determination and vision.

*  Will and Becky shared the Master’s vision and played a significant part in the development of the young members group bringing together an impressive team with a wide range of skills;
*  They were very effective helping the Master to communicate the aims of the year to the Assistants, Past Masters and other groups using Zoom. This directly led to the successful adoption of Zoom by many who were previously unfamiliar with the platform for Court business and social meetings;
*  An improved mentoring scheme and a wide range of training opportunities have been developed which will be delivered online and, later, will also be held Sir A Cobham Becky Kwoin Air Pilots House;
*  Several improvements to, and increased use of, the young members section of the website and various other communication means have developed an increased sense of ‘belonging’ for many young members;
*  Virtual Coffee Meetings have opened-up communications with Air Pilots of all ages from all Regions. Company members from aspiring aviators to Court members are taking part and with the introduction of online bookings, excellent hosting and facilitation, these events have very positive feedback and have made a real impact.

From the first concept meeting through every stage of the development process both Will Wright and Becky Kwo have made a significant and positive contribution.  For their combined outstanding service to the Company, which has made such a positive difference in this most challenging of years, and which are influencing the way in which the Company operates in the future, Will Wright and Becky Kwo are jointly awarded the Sir Alan Cobham Memorial Award.



Previous Winners:

As the Award of Merit:

1959/60   E B Trubshaw Esq

1960/61   Wing Commander C E F Arthur AFC

1961/62   C L Pashley Esq MBE AFC

     Group Captain H A Purvis DFC AFC

1964/65   C A Nepean Bishop Esq

1965/66   Miss Sheila Scott

1966/67   C C H Dash Esq

1968 - 1970  Not Awarded

1970/71   Mrs V Dowling

1971/72   E Day Esq

1973   Not Awarded

1973/74   Lieutenant Colonel R Smith ERD
          Sir Frederick Tymms KCIE MC

1974/75   L A Wingfield Esq MC DFC
          Captain J E Futcher

1975/76   Captain R E Gillman DFC

1976/77   A P W Cane Esq

1977/78   J L B Cowan Esq

1979 - 1980  Not Awarded

1980/81   Captain Brian Powell

1981/82   Captain Jack Nicholl

1982/83   Robert Pooley Esq

1984   Not Awarded

1984/85   W T F Rossiter Esq

1986   Not Awarded

1986/87   Captain Charles A Owens LVO

1987/88   Captain John D Mackellar

1988/89   Cyril (Ray) Jeffs Esq OBE

1989/90   Captain Neville Grady

1991   Not Awarded

1991/92   Captain Maurice R Aries

1993 - 1994 Not Awarded

1994/95   Raymond Baxter Esq

1995/96   The late Ronald D Campbell Esq MBE

1996/97   Dr Michael Bagshaw

1997/98   Past Master Fred S Stringer

1998/99   Hugh O Field Esq

1999/2000   Captain Ray Heiniger

2000/01   Captain Clive E Elton

2001/02   Captain Jack G L Smith 

2002/03   Captain C L Hodgkinson

2003/04   Captain John B Robinson

2004/05   Captain John Mason

2005/06   Michael J A Glover

2006/07  Captain David Martin

2007/08   John W Kessey

2008/09  Captain Richard (Dick) Felix

2009/10  Captain Ian Frow

2011  Not Awarded

2011/12  John Stuart Burley Esq OBE FRAeS

2013 Not Awarded

2013/14 Ronald Price

2015 Not Awarded


As the Sir Alan Cobham Memorial Award:

2016  Not Awarded

2017 David C Curgenven

      Peter Adrian Bird

2018  Donna Farquhar

      Captain Barry Mitchell

2019  Ruth M Cundy

2020  Will Wright and Becky Kwo