The Honourable Company of Air Pilots incorporating Air Navigators

The Sir James Martin Award

Awarded to an individual, a group, team or organisation, which has made an outstanding, original and practical contribution leading to the safer operation of aircraft or the survival of aircrew or passengers.


2019 awarded to:  Lieutenant Jonathan Moore RN


A Qualified Helicopter Instructor (QHI) in the Royal Navy, whose main duties are both time consuming and highly demanding, Lieutenant Jonathan Moore has been exceptional in his secondary role as the Commando Merlin Force Survival Officer over a six-year period and has unilaterally contributed to the safer operation of aircraft and aircrew survival.

Preparing Commando Helicopter Force for the transition of Merlin Mk3 from the Royal Air Force, he ensured the seamless transfer of vital survival equipment and operating procedures, maintaining operational effectiveness between Services. As 846 Naval Air Squadron (NAS) relocated from Royal Air Force (RAF) Benson to Royal Navy Air Station (RNAS) Yeovilton, Moore was key to establishing the Survival Equipment area of the new Squadron building, ensuring all aircrew had access to all the required Survival Equipment. The new site functioned flawlessly with new Survival Equipment stowage and Survival Equipment procedures being implemented, these high standards were noted as ‘exceptional’ by two formal Naval Flying Standards Flight (NFSF) visits to the Squadron with Moore being named as an ‘exceptional performer’ by the NFSF team.

With a new requirement to field Chemical, Biological, Radiological and Nuclear (CBRN) equipment, Moore was instrumental in the integration of the Aircrew Protection 012 Lt Jonathan Moore RN - Sir James MartinEquipment and Detection system into the Merlin Mk3. An essential capability for high priority UK tasks, and a growing capability for contingent operations, Lieutenant Moore took ownership from its inception. From creating the Statement of User Requirement (SUR) to the facilitation of the delivery of stowages, he maintained ownership throughout, engaging with Project Teams and international companies to enhance the capability, performing significantly beyond his terms of reference. Designing the training documentation and evolving the practical training unilaterally, he became the subject matter expert for RNAS Yeovilton and supported other platform types as they have introduced their equipment.

Acquiring and issuing personal helmets with improved lighting for Line Personnel, he significantly enhanced the conspicuity and therefore safety of individuals marshalling aircraft at night on dispersal. Seeking funding and liaising with commercial companies as well as the Fleet Innovation Team, he ran his own set of trials in different locations, including on board Royal Fleet Auxiliary (RFA) Argus.  His research and innovation resulted in a practical and cost-efficient solution which was delivered across Commando Helicopter Force and subsequently put forward for use in the Queen Elizabeth Class (QEC) aircraft carriers.

Lieutenant Moore has achieved all this activity whilst conducting his main flying duties to a very high standard. Acting as the aircraft commander during a sortie to transfer a young girl who was suffering from appendicitis, he airlifted her from Dartmoor to hospital and resultantly helped save her life. A true professional in the air yet dedicated on the ground to improving the safe operation of aircraft and the survival of aircrew, he is a thoroughly deserving recipient of the Sir James Martin Award.


Previous Winners:

1968/69 Lieutenant Commander Tarver

1969/70 Flight Lieutenant R C Shuster

1971  Not Awarded

1971/72 Group Captain J K Mason

1973  Not Awarded

1973/74 Colonel W P Schane

1975  Not Awarded

1975/76 Group Captain A J Barwood

1976/77 E L Ripley Esq

1977/78 Flight Sergeant D J Jones

1978/79 D Johnson Esq

1979/80 Lieutenant Commander D R Taylor MBE

1980/81 Master Air Loadmaster David Bullock G C (posthumously)

1981/82 Geoffrey Harrison Esq

1983  Not Awarded

1983/84 Clifford Gaskell Esq

1985  Not Awarded

1985/86 Wing Commander R McCluskey AFC RAF

1987  Not Awarded

1987/88 Air Vice-Marshal P H Howard

1989  Not Awarded

1989/90 Lieutenant Commander Paul Barton RN

1991 - 1992  Not Awarded

1992/93 John W Chappelow Esq

1994  Not Awarded

1994/95 Flight Lieutenant Kevin A Brooks

1995/96 Lieutenant Commander Paul Haywood RN

1997  Not Awarded

1997/98 Major J Norman Ryan MC

1998/99 Dr Christopher Brooks, OMM,OstJ,CD,MBChB,DavMed,FFOM

1999/2000 Air Accidents Investigation Branch Lockerbie Team

2000/01 Chief Petty Officer Terrence Allison

2001/02 Lieutenant Commander Clive Rawson RN

2003  Not Awarded

2003/04 Squadron Leader Jonathan James Harrison RAF

2004/05 Professor Helen Christine Muir OBE MA PhD CPsychol FRAeS

2005/06 John Freeman

2006/07 Captain John Cox

2008  Not Awarded

2008/09 Flight Lieutenant Emily Rickards RAF

2009/10 David Cockburn

2010/11  Captain Linc Alexander

2011/12 Major K E Bryan AAC

2013  Not Awarded

2013/14  Captain James Cunningham AAC

2014/15 Captain Mark Chesney

2016 The Performance Based Navigation (PBN) Research Project Team

2017  SkyDemon

2018  Dr Donough Wilson

2019  Lieutenant Jonathan Moore RN